Andrew Hewkin

This post is really just to appreciate the work of an artist I have recently discovered. His name is Andrew Hewkin and he travels the world and visits all these incredible countries to paint them. But what I find so amazing about his work is that he can successfully capture the essence and soul of the place he was painting, you can feel it, you can feel the warm sun on your skin and hear the back ground noise or local music in it and you just get transported there through his use of vivid colours and depiction of light.

I find that his work has elements of impressionism, cubism and surrealism (evident in other works, not the ones I have included, these are just some of my favourites), and the fact that his work is so rooted in place and location really gives a real sense of the place he was painting. I am and have always been enamoured by sunlight, and when I find an artist that can capture it in their work I am that much more in admiration of them as I think it is very difficult to capture the brilliance and pure joy of sunlight. I feel that it is much easier to paint sunlight than it is to capture it. So that was a big factor as to why I am so taken by Hewkin’s work.

I am lucky enough to be in London at the beginning of June for Graduate Fashion Week, and over the 4 days I am there I plan on catching the last few days of Andrew Hewkin’s show at Wimbledon Fine Art. I am beyond excited and fortunate to see the work of an artist that I have only recently discovered and have such a love of the work. I can’t wait!

Leave a comment